top of page

Amigurumi Elephant Security Blanket

I saw the idea for this cute little guy/gal on Pinterest and just had to try it. If you want to see how they did it click here. I decided though that I wasn't going to follow the pattern they had, and so I made up my own. I did however follow a pattern for the round part of his/her head. I found the sphere pattern here. I chose to do the 18 Row Sphere to get a smaller size head. I like that she did all the math so that I didn't have to!

I am not selling this pattern, it is free. DO NOT SELL MY PATTERN!!! If there are errors, again I apologize. I wrote the pattern down as I went, so it should be correct.

NOTE*** IF you have not done Amigurumi before, it is a little different than normal crocheting. My best advice is for you to youtube amigurumi so you can get an idea of what it is like. I use a piece of string to mark my first stitch of a new row. Click here to go to a great site for lots of basics on amigurumi

To start off the pattern you will need

  1. E- 3.5mm Crochet hook

  2. Yarn Needle

  3. Space Marker

  4. Yarn

  • For Yarn I used: Caron Simply Soft in soft green (which happens to be a popular color, I tried finding it yesterday and everywhere I looked it was all sold out)

Caron Simply Soft Heathers in Grey Heather

  • I did not use a yarn needle, I just crocheted it on with slip stitches.

Legend

sc: single crochet

inc: increase in same loop (2 sc in a loop)

dec: decrease in same loop (join 2 sc)

***When the head/arms/trunk gets to a size thats small enough (yet large enough) to stuff with the material you choose, stop. Stuff the head and then continue to finish off the pattern***

Elephant Head

18 Row Sphere

Row 1) Ch 2. 6 Sc in second Ch from hook. (6) Row 2) inc in each stitch around. (12) Row 3) 1, inc, 2, inc, 1, inc, 2, inc, 1, inc (17) Row 4) 2, inc, 2, inc, 1, inc, 2, inc, 2, inc, 1, inc, 1 (23)

Row 5) 3, inc, 5, inc, 5, inc, 5, inc, 1 (27)

Row 6) 4, inc, 6, inc, 6, inc, 6, inc, 1 (31)

Row 7) 8, inc, 9, inc, 9, inc, 2 (34) Row 8) 10, inc, 16, inc, 6 (36)

Row 9) 17, inc, 18 (37) Row 10) even (37) Row 11) 18, dec, 17 (36) Row 12) 6, dec, 16, dec, 10 (34) Row 13) 2, dec, 9, dec, 9, dec, 8 (31) Row 14) 1, dec, 6, dec, 6, dec, 6, dec, 4 (27)

Row 15) 1, dec, 5, dec, 5, dec, 5, dec, 3 (23)

Row 16) 1, dec, 1, dec, 2, dec, 2, dec, 1, dec, 2, dec, 2 (17)

Row 17) (dec, 1) repeat () around (12) Row 18) 4 scdec. Fasten off. Weave loose end through each stitch in the opening. Pull tightly to close.

I learned something after I finished my elephant. Instead of making a seperate trunk, you can skip fastening off the elephants head. Instead you crochet until you get to the row of the head that suits the circumference you want your trunk to be. Then instead of continuing to decrease, you spiral around and around until your trunk is the length you want it. Then decrease and fasten your trunk. You can decide which look you want.

Ears

Heather Grey

Row 1) Make a magic ring, chain 1, 6 sc in magic ring (6)

Row 2) sc (Inc in all 6) (12)

Row 3) Inc in next 8 (16) (NOTE*you will leave those last 4 so that you can reverse back on the 16 loops you just made, making an almost semi-circle)

Rows 4-6) Reverse/turn around, sc in 16

Row 7) Sc 10 across the bottom(so it's easier to attach to head)

Arms

1st color (Soft green)

Row 1) Make a magic ring, chain 1, 6 sc in magic ring- (6)

Row 2) Inc in all 6sc- (12)

Row 3) 1sc ,inc, 1sc, inc, 1sc, inc, 1sc, inc, 1sc, inc, 1sc, inc- (18)

2nd color (Heather grey)

4: sc in back chain only all the way around- (18)

5: even- (18)

6: 4sc, dec, 4sc, dec, 4sc, dec- (15)

7: even- (15)

8:3,dec,3,dec,3,dec- (12)

9:even (12)

For the arms you are not going to tie them off like you would the head. Instead you are going to flatten the arm and stitch it together, or crochet the end shut flat.

Trunk

(Heather grey)

Row 1) Make a magic ring, chain 1, 6 sc into magic ring- (6)

Row 2) inc in all 6sc- (12)

Row 3) sc in back loops only- (12)

Row 4) even- (12)

Row 5) 4,dec,4,dec- (10)

Rows 6-8) even- (10)

For the trunk you are not going to tie it off either. Instead you are going to flatten the arm and stitch it together, or crochet the end shut flat.

When you have your pieces stuffed and ready to be put together, you can choose to either use your yarn needle to stich them on to the head or use your crochet hook to pull the yarn through. Again I am not the authority on how to do Arigurumi, so feel free to google/youtube "how to..." to find out the way you would prefer to do it.

GRANNY SQUARE BLANKET For the Granny Square Blanket I forgot to write down the pattern. If you have done granny squares before then this will make sense to you. You can do what I did to learn. I just watched a youtube video to learn how here and then when i went to go start a new row, instead of keeping the same color I switched to a new color.

I did 3dc in each stitch. Here is the order I did my colors.

Row1,2: Caron simply soft green

Row 3: Caron simply soft heathers in heather grey

Row 4: Caron simply soft dark country blue

Row 5: Caron simply soft white

Row 6:Caron simply soft green

Row 7:Caron simply soft heathers in heather grey

Row 8:Caron simply soft dark country blue

Row 9: Caron simply soft white

Row 10:Caron simply soft green

Row 11:Caron simply soft heathers in heather grey

Row 12:Caron simply soft dark country blue

Once your blanket is done stitch your head onto the blanket and you are done!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page